St. Johns County Quick Facts

County Quick Facts

St. Johns County is home to more than 254,000 people that are served by two municipalities and the County Government.

The County is 608 square miles and is surrounded with beaches, riverfront, and dozens of historical landmarks, which makes it ideally positioned to attract visitors and industry.

St. Johns County has 2 incorporated cities St. Augustineand St. Augustine Beach. Unincorporated communities include Ponte Vedra, Hastings, Switzerland, Crescent Beach, Tocoi, Bakersville, Picolatta, Orangedale, Fruit Cove, Summer Haven and Vilano Beach. St. Augustine, the county seat, was incorporated under Florida law on December 2, 1924. It has a city manager and an elected commissioners form of government. St. Augustine Beach was incorporated on January 1, 1960 and has a mayor and elected council form of government.

A recent study places St. Johns County as one of the fastest growing in the State, including job growth and income growth. Recent data from the U.S. Census Bureau indicates that the population increased 4.2 percent between 2017 and 2018, making St. Johns County the eighth-fastest growing county in the country.

General Andrew Jackson, the Governor of the Territory of Florida, established the county in 1821, when he divided the state into two counties. Jackson designated the eastern portion of the state as St. Johns County and designated the western portion as Escambia County. St. Johns County has since diminished in size to approximately 608 square miles, but remains one of the foremost counties in Florida and, indeed, the Nation.

County Government Quick Facts

St. Johns County Government consists of five Commissioners serving terms of four years.

The five-member Board of County Commissioners set policy as the governing board for County Government. Voters of the County also elect five Constitutional Officers consisting of Clerk of Court, Property Appraiser, Sheriff, Supervisor of Elections and Tax Collector.

The County employs a workforce of over 1000 in facilities located throughout the County with the main buildings located in and around the County Complex on Lewis Speedway. The County Commission appoints the County Administrator and the County Attorney. The County Administrator directs day-to-day government operations. The County Attorney is the Board of County Commissioners’ legal counsel and provides legal advice and represents the County in litigation. The County financial plan can be seen in the Office of Management and Budget section of the website.

Economy Quick Facts

The County's economic base is diverse and primarily tourism-related. We continually promote a better balance of local employment opportunities, including industrial and-office related jobs.

Economic Development initiatives have focused on enhancing the growth of existing businesses and attraction of new business through policies that will establish St. Johns County as a location of choice to conduct business in a flexible business climate, that is balanced by vibrant neighborhoods and natural environment.

By working together through strategic partnerships St. Johns County can welcome and encourage those opportunities that will create jobs and strengthen the County's diverse economy.






Florida’s Historic Coast
Images of St. Johns County