Electrician Continuing Education – IAEI Flordia Chapter Meeting, May 4-7, 2016. Electrician CEUs
Local Construction Licenses Expire – St. Johns County Local Construction licenses expire 9/30/15. To renew your license after this date, there will be a late fee assessed until December 31, 2015 of $30.00. From 1/1/2016 until 9/30/2016, the late fee will be $106.00. For all authorized contractors, all insurance must be current in the St. Johns County database, and business information active on Sunbiz.org.
St. Johns County offers licensing from General and Electrical to painting and insulation contractors. We have been licensing those that are qualified to build whole buildings or entire operating systems, major components and non-structural, specialty and finish trades since 1976.
The Contractor Licensing program ensures that only qualified contractors perform construction work in St. Johns County.
Good to Know
Construction Management as service that oversees the management of construction activities on a given project is the exclusive purview of a licensed contractor! Construction Management cannot be performed by an unlicensed individual or entity. ( CILB Declaratory Statement DS 2011-082)
Don’t forget, you are required to display your contractor’s license number on all signage, proposals and contracts. State Statute 489 and St. Johns County Ordinance requires licensees to display their license number in any advertisement aired, circulated, displayed, distributed or marketed within the county that offers services of the contractor regulated by this Statute and Ordinance.
Notice: All State Certified Contractors must register to operate in St. Johns County.
Notice: Hiring an unlicensed contractor is a violation of Florida Statute 455.228 and is subject to a $5,000 fine. Florida Statute 489 and St. Johns County Ordinance 2002-48 require contractors to be licensed; before advertising, bidding or performing any work.
Please report all unauthorized construction activity to Contractor Licensing at (904) 827-6820. All subcontractors working in St. Johns County are required to be licensed!
Certification of Registered Contractor's Licenses (Grandfathering)
House Bill 897 passed during the 2012 legislative session, extended the time period to November 1, 2015, for contractors to request their registered contractor’s license be grandfathered to a state-wide certified contractor’s license.
Find out how to grandfather your locally tested:
- Class I Building related license on this page at MyFloridaLicense.com
- Class I Electrical related license on this page at MyFloridaLicense.com
Working around Lead Based paint?
Contractors in Florida performing renovation, repair and painting projects that disturb lead-based paint in homes, child care facilities, and schools built before 1978 must be certified and must follow specific work practices to prevent lead contamination. EPA Lead Laws and Regulations.
License Renewal & Insurance
PLEASE NOTE: County Contractor licenses expire on September 30, 2015.
- The fee for renewing contractor licenses is $106.00, with a late fee effective 10/1/15 the total due is $136.00, and after 12/31/15 the total due with late fee is $212.00.
- Journeyman license renewal is $50.00, with a late fee effective 10/1/15 the total due is $80.00, and after 12/31/15 the total due with late fee is $156.00.
For active contractors (does not include journeyman licensees), all insurances must be current in licensing file with the County, in order to renew a license. Renewal fees will be returned to license holder if insurance is not current. We accept cash, checks, credit and debit cards.
You cannot renew your license online or by phone. You must renew by either mail or in person.
Contact, Location & Hours
The Permit Center
4040 Lewis Speedway
St. Augustine, Florida 32084
Open 7:30am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday
P: (904) 827-6820
F: (904) 827-6847
St Johns County Building Services – Committed to Building Safety